Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for July 17th, 2010

I remember reading a poster on a bus when I was riding to school one morning:
“For love is such a mystery,
I cannot find it out;
And when I think it’s best resolved,
I then am most in doubt”.
I’m not sure who wrote it, or even if I’m remembering it correctly, but it’s been a ditty which has stuck with me throughout my life.
And so I offer two “real” love poems, both by Elizabeth Barrett Browning:  “If thou must love me… (Sonnet 14)” and “How Do I Love Thee? (Sonnet 43)“.  Even as a fairly poorly cultured American male, I can recognize some of the most famous lines in poetry.  Some day I’ll have to look up exactly what a “Sonnet” is…  ‘Til then…
Back in the Gym…
I was able to jog again today.  I got in my two miles and then lifted weights.  Some pain in my back – but bearable.  I’m hoping for no pain tomorrow as I’ve got a lot of yard work to plow thru (pun intended).
.
On This Day In:
2022 This Is A Time…
2021 Feeling Younger
In It (In The Mood)
2020 One Person
2019 More Likely Unsinging
What’s At Stake…
2018 But What Are You DOING About November?
Or His Elected Position
2017 Some Good
2016 Edges
Sums
2015 I Hope Not
2014 Study The Means Of Expressing Yourself
2013 That Stubborn Thing
2012 Like Mike
2011 Flawless Or Candid
2010 Browning…

Read Full Post »