Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for July 11th, 2010

Didn’t get near as much done this week as I’d hoped…
Still no real relief with my back or right calve pain.  I tried jogging on it twice this week.  I got two miles done each time and then it bothered me the rest of the day.  The drinking doesn’t seem to help.  The inversion does, but there a limit to how much I can do and I can’t do it during the day while I’m in the office.
Tomorrow is the finals for the World Cup.  It’s Spain vs Netherlands.  I hope the Dutch win, but I expect it will be Spain.  They really do have a very impressive side.  Germany defeated Uruguay for third place (3-2).
Today I added two more song lyrics pages.  The first is “I Am A Rock” written by Paul Simon.  This is one of the earliest songs I remember memorizing.  I remember being alone a lot and I guess memorizing a song about defensible aloneness made it seem like a choice.  All I really remember was being very shy as a child.  I’m not sure why.  My family “remember” me as a bookworm, but not as particularly shy.
The second song lyrics are from much later:  “Like A Rock” written by Bob Seger.  This is a song about youth and strength.  I can remember both of those as well.  There’s a great line that goes, “Twenty years now, Where’d they go?”  I frequently ask myself that question these days.
Since I haven’t been able to jog, I’ve started lifting again at work (in the gym).  It feels good to tighten up and feel the start of getting big again.
Another full eight hours of OT at work.  I’m still behind from by being sick last week.  Slowly, slowly I’m catching up…
I tried to fix our leaky shower today when I got home.  No joy.  I ended up having to call a plumber ($220), but it’s worth it if it’s dripping money down the drain.  Easy come, easy go.  I watched him and learned a lot.  I think I’ll be able to do it correctly next time.
.
On This Day In:
2022 Three Reasons Why #45 Was Too Much For America To Handle
2021 Feeling Humble
Laughter And Loving (When She Was My Girl)
2020 Mostly Dry, With A Chance Of Late Rain
And The Same Goes For Blogs / Posts
2019 Not Enough
2018 One Thing We Do Know
2017 Preservation
2016 Going Back
2015 Just For Today
2014 Reaching For Destiny
2013 Still Just Passing Through
2012 Live Or Die
2011 On Secession
2010 A Rocky Weekend

Read Full Post »