Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for July 3rd, 2015

Lilo and Stitch” – (LaS) movie review
LaS is a Disney animated film from 2002.  It is basically a retelling of “The Ugly Duckling” wrapped up in a Matryoshka doll story of a little orphaned girl struggling to find friends and her own place in her world.  Lilo lives with her older sister Nani, who struggles to keep a job and make ends meet.  Along comes a space alien (Stitch), who was created to be indestructible and to destroy everything around it.  Through tender acts of kindness and faith, Lilo spreads her “family” to include Stitch and, in turn, discovers the friend and family she so desperately seeks, too.  Stitch, in turn, transforms from a snarling monster to cute and cuddly.
The film is a comedy and action-thriller with a large amount of heart thrown in for good measure.  It works on many levels – animation, science-fiction, family-friendly, slap-stick and heart-tugging philosophy:  ‘ Ohana” means family, and family means nobody gets left behind or forgotten.‘   With three kids, I’ve seen this move at least a dozen times while they were still young, but this is the first time in probably seven or eight years.  No particular reason for that failing…  It’s just turned out that way.  Which is a shame, because I’ve seen some terrible movies in that time when I could have been re-watching this gem.
Final recommendation: Highly Recommended!  This is a family movie you can enjoy together over and over again.
By the way, I tried for years to get my kids interested in Elvis Presley (“The King”).  Lilo plays several of his songs during the movie and “suddenly” my kids LOVE Elvis.  Whoda thunk it?
[Five years ago I decided to start adding quotes and song lyrics to my site.  Before that the site was personal comments / observations, my own poems and my favorite poems / speeches, and book / movie reviews.   —   kmab]
.
On This Day In:
2022 Recovering From The #45 / COVID Induced Inflation / Recession
2021 Sift And Stir
Some Oaktown Beat
2020 Reasons
2019 The Greatest Hazard
2018 Both Sides
2017 What, With, Where…
2016 Much Less
2015 True Wealth
Still The King
2014 First Wishes
2013 Can’t I Just Use A Bigger Hammer?
2012 Entering Imagi-Nation
2011 Which Is Which
2010 Weekend Update – 4th of July 2010

Read Full Post »

My wealth is in my knowledge of self, love, and spirituality.
    ―    Muhammad Ali
[Five years ago I decided to start adding quotes and song lyrics to my site.  Before that the site was personal comments / observations, my own poems and my favorite poems / speeches, and book / movie reviews.    —    kmab]
.
On This Day In:
2022 Recovering From The #45 / COVID Induced Inflation / Recession
2021 Sift And Stir
Some Oaktown Beat
2020 Reasons
2019 The Greatest Hazard
2018 Both Sides
2017 What, With, Where…
2016 Much Less
2015 True Wealth
Still The King
2014 First Wishes
2013 Can’t I Just Use A Bigger Hammer?
2012 Entering Imagi-Nation
2011 Which Is Which
2010 Weekend Update – 4th of July 2010

Read Full Post »