Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for September 2nd, 2017

Day 8

Today is day 8 of my latest “juice / blend” fast.  So far, I’ve only cheated twice: I had a handful of strawberries today and a couple of slices of watermelon last Monday (well, Monday or Tuesday).  I am trying to be strict, but I’m not going to let myself be fanatical to the point where I beat myself up over a little fruit.
This first week has been “just” juice: the blend was 2 spinach, 1 onion, 2 cucumbers, 2 heads of broccoli, and 2 bunches of celery.  I run it through my juicer and discard the pulp.  Week two will be with pulp re-added.  I mix the veg-juice with unfiltered apple juice, orange juice and pineapple juice.  Obviously, this is already not a “strict” unprocessed juice fast.  But, it’s probably as close as I’ll ever get.  This is probably my millionth time trying to lose weight and “probably” this is at least my dozenth time trying to lose via juicing and / or blending.  My first was several years ago when I first watched the documentary: “Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead“.  I’ve done one juice fast for 30 days and a couple for 20 days.  And, of course, loads of 3, 4, or 5 day cleanses.  They were all successful for their duration, but I’ve always gone back to my old ways and yo-yo’d back up the scale past where I began.
Why will this time be different?  I don’t really think it will…  Unless, …
There is one major variable:  I retire at the end September!  Hopefully, between the de-stressing and the new found time, I’ll have a better chance to stick with a program to regain and then build a healthy future.  Now, my current plan is not to fast for the entire month.  I’m only planning to go to next Saturday (09/09/2017).  Then, I will evaluate how I feel and see if I want to push on or just switch to a more normal lifestyle / diet.
My long term plan is to eat better, to eat well and to eat for wellness.  For me, this will mean making better lifestyle (sleep, fluids, activity) as well as food choices.  My keys will be “Fresh” and primarily “Plant-based“.  I am a flesh-eater and I always will be, but, I will limit myself to two flesh days a week.  The other five days, flesh can (should be) only be used for flavoring.  And, unfortunately, the same will be true for grains, pastas, breads and desserts.

Day 8 of my latest juice fast

Day 8 of my latest juice fast

Starting Date: 26 August 2017
Starting Weight: 378 lbs
Current Date: 2 September 2017
Current Weight: 365 lbs
Weight Loss To Date: 13 lbs
.
On This Day In:
2016 Paying Attention
2015 An Awful Ordeal
2014 What Are You Doing?
2013 Lives > 1
2012 Strange To All The World
2011 Unnecessary Stagefright
Read Full Post »

The most completely lost of all days is that on which one has not laughed.
   —  Sebastian Chamfort
.
On This Day In:
2016 Paying Attention
2015 An Awful Ordeal
2014 What Are You Doing?
2013 Lives > 1
2012 Strange To All The World
2011 Unnecessary Stagefright

Read Full Post »

